Wednesday, September 5, 2012

TAMU Inducts Eight New Members into Corps Hall of Honor

On April 14th of this year, Texas A&M University acknowledged the lifetime accomplishments of eight former cadets during the Corps Hall of Honor induction ceremony in Rudder Auditorium. Prior to these new additions, the Corps Hall of Honor had only inducted 96 former cadets along with two honorary inductees – President George H.W. Bush, one of the new inductees, and former US Secretary of Defense Texas A&M University President Robert M. Gates. Established in 1993 to pay tribute to former cadets who lived a life that embodies Aggie Spirit, the Corps of Cadets formed the Hall of Honor to pay tribute to Aggies who possess and live the values upon which the Corps of Cadets was instituted: honor, loyalty, service, pride, patriotism, faith, leadership, and honesty.

These incredible men whose accomplishments will be forever in the Corps of Cadets Hall of Honor are:
  • Captain Eli L. Whiteley, Class of 1941
  • Major Hughes “Buddy” Seewald, Class of 1942
  • Mr. Don Adams, Class of 1957
  • Major General H. Hale Burr, Class of 1965
  • Lieutenant General John A. Van Alstyne, Class of 1966
  • Mr. W. Michael Baggett, Class of 1968
  • U.S. Representative William H. “Bill” Flores, Class of 1976
  • President George Herbert Walker Bush
For videos about these men and the honorable lives they led, click here.

--Paige Bukowski